Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer

Environment and Natural Resources Policy and Legacy Finance Committee
Wednesday, March 16, 2022
1:00 PMLivestream YouTube


Present: Senator Carrie Ruud - Chair, Senator Bill Weber Vice Chair, Senator Steve Cwodzinski, Senator Foung Hawj, Senator Andrew R. Lang, Senator Jennifer A. McEwen, Senator David H. Senjem

Absent: No Members Absent

Senator Carrie Ruud called the meeting to order at 1:00pm

S.F. 3046: Senator Eaton: Maximum amount of a watershed district general fund tax levy increase.

SF3046 Sen Eaton presented bill. Sen McEwen moved the A-2 amendment - the amendment was adopted by voice vote. Senator McEwen moved SF3046 pass as amnded and be re-ref. to Tax Committee. The motion passed by voice vote. 


The following people testified: 

  • Jim Stark, Director, Subcommittee on Minnesota Water Policy (remote)
  • Emily Javen, Executive Director, MN Association of Watershed Districts, Inc. (MAWD)
  • Rebecca Carlson, Administrator, Clearwater River Watershed District (remote)


Senator McEwen moved that S.F. 3046, as amended, recommended to pass and re-referred to the Taxes Committee. - MOTION PREVAILED.

S.F. 3359: Senator Hawj: Pig\'s Eye Landfill Task Force establishment and appropriation.

SF3359 was presented by Sen Hawj regarding Pigs Eye Landfill. Sen Cwodzinski moved the A-1 Amendment...the amendment passed by voice vote. Sen Cwodzinski moved SF3359 as Amended pass and be re-referred to Finance Committee. The Motion passed by voice vote. 


The following people testified: 

  • Victoria Reinhardt, Ramsey County Commissioner
  • Kiki Sonnen, Audubon Society
  • Jane Prince, St. Paul City Councilmember
  • Tom Dimon, former St. Paul City Councilmember and Commissioner for the National Park


Senator Cwodzinski moved that S.F. 3359, as amended, recommended to pass and re-referred to the Finance Committee. - MOTION PREVAILED.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:00pm

Senator Carrie Ruud, Chair
Lisa Handrick, Legislative Assistant