Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer

Labor Committee
Thursday, January 12, 2023
12:30 PM or 15 Minutes After SessionRemote


Present: Senator Jennifer A. McEwen - Chair, Senator Grant Hauschild - Vice Chair, Senator Gene Dornink, Senator Glenn H. Gruenhagen, Senator Robert J. Kupec, Senator Bill Lieske, Senator John Marty, Senator Clare Oumou Verbeten, Senator Sandra L. Pappas, Senator Nathan Wesenberg

Absent: No Members Absent

Senator Jennifer A. McEwen called the meeting to order at 1:13pm.

S.F. 10: Senator Seeberger: Skilled and trained contractor workforce use at petroleum refineries authorization.

Senator Judy Seeberger presented S.F. 10, and offered author A-2 amendment, with oral amendment to the amendment:

        On line 1.9 after the words ‘on the job’ insert the word, ‘learning’.


Senator John Marty moved to adopt the A-2 amendment as amended. The motion carried on a voice vote.


The following witnesses testified in favor of passing S.F. 10:

            Kevin Chapdelaine, City Councilor, Newport, MN; retired MN Pipe Trades member.

            Ben Weideman, member of the Laborers' International Union of North America.

            Dean Benson, member of Teamsters Local 120.

            Kate Perushek, Deputy Commissioner of the Minnesota Department of Labor & Industry.

            Joseph De Flora, American Fuels and Petrochemical Manufacturers (Hoboken, NJ via Zoom).

            Karla Bigham, Washington County Commissioner, former Minnesota State Senator.


The following witnesses testified in opposition to S.F. 10:

            Lynn Granger, Executive Director of the American Petroleum Institute (Denver, CO via Zoom).

            Jake Reint, Vice President of Flint Hills Resources.

            Adam Hanson, President of the Associated Builders and Contractors of Minnesota & North Dakota.

            Stephen Toups, CEO of Turner Industries.

            Mitch Horn, employee at Turner Industries.

            Evan Bourdage, Site Manager at Apache Industrial Services.




Senator Glenn Gruenhagen offered the A-4 amendment.

            Senator Gruenhagen withdrew the A-4 amendment.


Senator Gruenhagen offered the A-5 amendment.

            Senator Gruenhagen withdrew the A-5 amendment.


Senator Gruenhagen offered the A-3 amendment.

            Senator Gruenhagen withdrew the A-3 amendment.


Senator Gene Dornink offered the A-6 amendment.

            Senator Dornink withdrew the A-6 amendment.




Senator Sandra Pappas moved that S.F. 10 be recommended to pass and be re-referred to the Judiciary and Public Safety Committee as amended. 

            Senator Nathan Wesenberg requested a roll call vote. Chair grants request. 


Senator Bill Lieske requested that the roll call vote be entered into the Senate Journal. Chair grants request.


Senators voting that S.F. 10 as amended be recommended to pass and be re-referred to the Judiciary and Public Safety Committee:

            Senator McEwen

            Senator Hauschild

            Senator Kupec

            Senator Marty

            Senator Oumou Verbeten

            Senator Pappas


Senators voting in opposition to the motion:

            Senator Dornink

            Senator Gruenhagen

            Senator Lieske

            Senator Wesenberg


The motion carried and when so amended the bill do pass and be re-referred to the Judiciary and Public Safety Committee.


Senator Pappas moved that S.F. 10, as amended, recommended to pass and re-referred to the Judiciary and Public Safety Committee. - MOTION CARRIED.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:43pm.

Senator Jennifer A. McEwen, Chair
Jack Fischer, Legislative Assistant