Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer

Minnesota Democratic-Farmer-Labor Party Caucus (DFL)

The DFL Senate Caucus consists of elected legislative members of the Democratic-Farmer-Labor Party (DFL) Party.

Legislative Role

The Senate DFL Caucus represents Democratic-Farmer-Labor Party views on Minnesota legislative policy.

Functions and Services

Research, media announcements, and communications with Senators' constituents are provided by this office.

Key Resources

Resource Description
DFL Caucus Senators View the list of Senators that are members of or caucus with the DFL Caucus
DFL Leadership View the list of leadership positions.

Timeline/Calendar Highlights

Date timeline Description
July 1 State fiscal year begins each year, and in odd-numbered years, state fiscal biennium begins.
July through December Groundwork is laid for upcoming legislative session. Ongoing budget activity, budget-related events, trends, and issues are analyzed for their fiscal policy implications. Budget divisions, committees, and legislative commissions hold special meetings to examine pending issues.
End of November Department of Finance issues November Forecast of state revenues and expenditures.
Beginning of January Legislature convenes, begins official budget hearings and committee hearings to discuss pertinent issues and bills. Staff drafts bills and amendments upon request of Senators.
Fourth Tuesday in January in odd-numbered years, or third Tuesday in February, if a new governor has just been elected Governor issues detailed budget for following biennium.
Mid February Governor issues detailed budget and policy bills for the next biennium.
End of February Department of Finance issues February Forecast of state revenues and expenditures.
March to June Legislature finishes committee and budget hearings, bills are debated and voted on in floor sessions, and conference committees meet to finalize bills. Governor signs or vetoes legislation.
Monday following third Saturday in May Constitution mandates end of regular session.

Staff List



Name Title Office Phone Number
Bakk Laura Legislative Assistant 2235 MSB 651.296.8017
Barone Marcus Legislative Assistant 2215 MSB 651.297.8065
Bean Fabian Legislative Assistant 2325 MSB 651.296.4334
Bogan Shemeka Legislative Assistant 2303 MSB 651.296.9246
Broton Krista Assistant Research Director G300 MSB 651.296.7423


Name Title Office Phone Number
Callais Cynthia Legislative Assistant 2321 MSB 651.296.5537
Cavert Elspeth Legislative Assistant 2401 MSB 651.296.5645
Clinton Jacque Researcher G300 MSB 651.296.1113
Coulter Nathan Legislative Assistant 2323 MSB 651.297.8061


Name Title Office Phone Number
Elling Danna Researcher G300 MSB 651.296.7089
Emmerich J.W. Legislative Assistant 2415 MSB 651.296.6153
Enabnit Cullen Legislative Assistant 2413 MSB 651.296.7633


Name Title Office Phone Number
Falana Inderia Legislative Assistant 2209 MSB 651.296.4261
Farrington Mackenzie Legislative Assistant 2233 MSB 651.296.4120
Freeman William Legislative Assistant 2211 MSB 651.296.3205


Name Title Office Phone Number
Gross David Legislative Assistant 2403 MSB 651.296.8869
Gunville Gloria Researcher G300 MSB 651.296.9271


Name Title Office Phone Number
Hunter Shannon Media Relations Specialist G300 MSB 651.296.3521


Name Title Office Phone Number
Janezich Craig Researcher G300 MSB 651.296.7425


Name Title Office Phone Number
Kaplan Nicole Legislative Assistant 2301 MSB 651.296.5931
Kline Tyler Legislative Assistant 2217 MSB 651.296.2889
Koch Bailey Media Relations Specialist G300 MSB 651.296.3350
Koster Salena Legislative Assistant 2207 MSB 651.297.8073


Name Title Office Phone Number
Livingston Nancy Legislative Assistant 2219 MSB 651.296.6820
Lunzer Bill Legislative Assistant 2411 MSB 651.296.2556


Name Title Office Phone Number
Majerus Ryan Researcher G300 MSB 651.296.0178
Morgan Christopher Legislative Assistant 2417 MSB 651.296.4188


Name Title Office Phone Number
Oaxaca Jessica Minority Communications Director 2228 MSB 651.296.4150


Name Title Office Phone Number
Parker Kevin Legislative Assistant 2231 MSB 651.296.4154
Pedersen Amanda Legislative Assistant 2409 MSB 651.296.4370
Pederson Hunter Legislative Assistant 2201 MSB 651.296.9248
Pollard John Minority Chief of Staff 2242 MSB 651.296.9384


Name Title Office Phone Number
Reid Tytiana Legislative Assistant 2203 MSB 651.296.7809
Runquist Christopher Executive Assistant 2234 MSB 651.296.0265
Russell Isaac Legislative Assistant 2227 MSB 651.296.4166


Name Title Office Phone Number
Sanchez Santoyo Claudia Legislative Assistant 2225 MSB 651.296.4274
Shea Larissa Legislative Assistant 2221 MSB 651.296.8881
Smaby Kendall Legislative Assistant 2229 MSB 651.296.6238
Spiteri Emily Legislative Assistant 2327 MSB 651.297.8060
Stein Elizabeth Researcher G300 MSB 651.296.7422


Name Title Office Phone Number
Tommerdahl Cassie Legislative Assistant G300 MSB 651.296.4113


Name Title Office Phone Number
Vang Hnuchee Legislative Assistant 3413 MSB 651.296.5285
Vilt Skyler Media Relations Specialist G300 MSB 651.296.1939


Name Title Office Phone Number
Walstad Mitchell Legislative Assistant 2213 MSB 651.296.4191
Wegleitner Jackie Director Research G300 MSB 651.296.0475
Weiner Greg Legislative Assistant 2319 MSB 651.296.1314


Name Title Office Phone Number
Zalanga Elizabeth Legislative Assistant 2205 MSB 651.296.1802