SENATE STATE OF MINNESOTA NINETY-THIRD SESSION

S.R. No. 101

(SENATE AUTHORS: MURPHY and Johnson) D-PG

DATE 05/15/2024 Introduction **OFFICIAL STATUS**

A Senate resolution

commemorating the lives and work of deceased Senators.

The Honorable Don Anderson, The Honorable Edward C. Oliver,

1983-1990 1993-2002

The Honorable Florian Chmielewski, The Honorable Albert H. Quie,

1971-1996 1955-1958

The Honorable Twyla Ring, The Honorable Douglas J. Johnson,

1999-2002 1977-2002

The Honorable John Milton,

The Honorable Franklin J. Knoll, The Honorable David Rued,

1977-1982 1978-1982

The Honorable David D. Schaaf, The Honorable Marilyn Lantry, 1981-1990 1973-1980

The Honorable Cal Larson, The Honorable Irving M. Stern, 1987-2006 1979-1982

The Honorable Phyllis McQuaid, The Honorable David J. Tomassoni,

1983-1990 2001-2022

1973-1977 WHEREAS, those in public office need an uncommon dedication to meet the demands upon

their time, resources, and talents; and

WHEREAS, in the history of the Minnesota Senate, there have been countless Senators who have left a heritage of noble deeds, thoughts, and acts; and

WHEREAS, in their endeavors to legislate for the public good of this state, they strove to represent fairly the rights of the people; and

WHEREAS, their spirits continually challenge, enlighten, and encourage those who remain to honestly and diligently exercise the work of the government for the public good; and

WHEREAS, Senators of today take courage and inspiration from those noble servants of another time who believed it was better to serve than to be served; and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Senate of the State of Minnesota that it recognizes the tremendous contributions of the following deceased senators: the Honorable Don Anderson, 1983-1990; the Honorable Florian Chmielewski, 1971-1996; the Honorable Douglas J. Johnson, 1977-2002; the Honorable Franklin J. Knoll, 1977-1982; the Honorable Marilyn Lantry, 1981-1990; the Honorable Cal Larson, 1987-2006; the Honorable Phyllis McQuaid, 1983-1990; the Honorable John Milton, 1973-1977; the Honorable Edward C. Oliver, 1993-2002; the Honorable Albert H. Quie, 1955-1958; the Honorable Twyla Ring, 1999-2002; the Honorable David Rued, 1978-1982; the Honorable David D. Schaaf, 1973-1980; the Honorable Irving M. Stern, 1979-1982; and the Honorable David. J. Tomassoni, 2001-2022. Their dedication to the public good is a source of inspiration to, and is worthy of emulation by, their present-day colleagues.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is directed to prepare an enrolled copy of this resolution, to be authenticated by the Secretary's signature and that of the Chair of the Senate Rules and Administration Committee, and transmit it to appropriate relatives of those commemorated by this resolution.

Tom Bottern Secretary of the Senate

Erin P. Murphy Chair, Senate Committee on Rules and Administration

Bobby Joe Champion President of the Senate

Mark T. Johnson Minority Leader