SENATE STATE OF MINNESOTA NINETY-THIRD SESSION

S.R. No. 89

(SENATE AUTHORS: SEEBERGER)

DATE 04/11/2024

OFFICIAL STATUS

Introduction

Referred to Rules and Administration

A Senate resolution

honoring Gold Cross Ambulance Service, in memory of its founder, John R. Perkins, on the occasion of the premiere of the Gold Cross Ambulance story documentary.

WHEREAS, the Minnesota Senate wishes to extend its sincere gratitude to Gold Cross Ambulance Service and its employees for 32 years of dedicated service to the communities of Rochester, Duluth, Mankato, and Owatonna beginning in 1962; and

WHEREAS, under the direction of founder John R. Perkins and the contributions of Harvey Hengel and Dr. Roger White, Gold Cross established a highly trained, technically advanced, professional ambulance service that became one of the first paramedic-level operations in the United States; and

WHEREAS, Gold Cross was the first ambulance service to staff paramedics and to function without any form of local, state, or federal subsidy while maintaining its place at the vanguard of prehospital emergency care providers; and

WHEREAS, going beyond the provision of services for emergency transportation, Gold Cross provided communities and hospitals with plans to assist citizens during any type of disaster; and

WHEREAS, Gold Cross personnel provided CPR training and other emergency procedure instruction to police, firefighters, and the general public; and

WHEREAS, the name "Gold Cross" expresses the philosophy and high standards for which the company was known. Gold symbolizes quality, the cross signifies an ability to assist mankind, and the motto "Waiting to Serve" indicates readiness at all times to serve the public and those in need; and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Senate of the State of Minnesota that it honors John R. Perkins for 32 years of leadership and innovation in the field of emergency medical services.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is directed to prepare an enrolled copy of this resolution, to be authenticated by the Secretary's signature and that of the Chair of the Senate Rules and Administration Committee, and transmit it to Director General Dennis Y. E. Lei.

Tom Bottern Secretary of the Senate Erin P. Murphy Chair, Senate Committee on Rules and Administration

Judy Seeberger State Senator, District 41