KRB/CH

SENATE STATE OF MINNESOTA NINETY-THIRD SESSION

S.R. No. 80

(SENATE AUTHORS: JASINSKI, Dibble, Howe and Coleman) DATE D-PG OFFICIAL STATUS 03/11/2024 Introduction Referred to Rules and Administration

A Senate resolution

expressing gratitude to Colonel Matt Langer for nearly 25 years of service with the Minnesota State Patrol.

WHEREAS, Matt Langer joined the Minnesota State Patrol in 1999 as a trooper working out of the St. Paul station; and

WHEREAS, he spent time on the Metro Crash Reconstruction Team and was director of the State Patrol's fleet and asset management section before moving up to captain; and

WHEREAS, after serving as assistant chief and acting chief, Matt was appointed Colonel, Chief of the State Patrol, in January of 2015; and

WHEREAS, Colonel Langer's accomplishments with the State Patrol include growing an internal peer support team, re-establishing a chaplaincy program, forming and progressing the crash reconstruction specialty area, helping advocate for passage of Minnesota's hands-free statute in 2019, and signing a pledge to increase the number of female troopers and support staff to 30 percent by 2030; and

WHEREAS, under Colonel Langer's leadership, the State Patrol focused its education and enforcement efforts on preventing driving that leads to fatal crashes, including an initiative against street racing and HEAT Patrols against speeding and criminal activity. Minnesota roads are now the third safest in the country; and

WHEREAS, Colonel Langer is leaving the State Patrol to become the director of global policing for the International Association of Chiefs of Police; and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Senate of the State of Minnesota that it wishes Colonel Langer the best in his new position and thanks him for his service to the Department of Public Safety and the Minnesota State Patrol.

1

KRB/CH

24-07424

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is directed to prepare an enrolled copy of this resolution, to be authenticated by the Secretary's signature and that of the Chair of the Senate Rules and Administration Committee, and transmit it to Colonel Matt Langer.

Tom Bottern Secretary of the Senate Erin P. Murphy Chair, Senate Committee on Rules and Administration

John R. Jasinski State Senator, District 19