SENATE STATE OF MINNESOTA NINETY-THIRD SESSION

S.R. No. 34

as introduced

(SENATE AUTHORS: HOWE)

DATE D-PG 04/17/2023

OFFICIAL STATUS

4/17/2023 Introduction

Referred to Rules and Administration

A Senate resolution

congratulating Sartell Police Chief Jim Hughes on his retirement.

WHEREAS, James Hughes retired on March 31, 2023, after over 32 years of dedicated service in law enforcement to the city of Sartell; and

WHEREAS, Chief Hughes began his career in law enforcement as a patrol officer in Kasson. He then served as interim police chief in Claremont before joining the Sartell Police Department in 1991; and

WHEREAS, Chief Hughes served as a field training officer, sergeant, and lieutenant before being promoted to chief in 2004; and

WHEREAS, during Hughes' tenure as police chief, the number of personnel has jumped from six to 22 and the number of marked squad cars has increased from two to 12. Hughes has had a hand in hiring just about every person in the department today; and

WHEREAS, Hughes said he's proud of all the department has accomplished and is especially proud of his officers' commitment to serving the community through outreach programs and everyday interactions with residents, such as helping to shovel walkways or coordinating donations for those in need; and

WHEREAS, in addition to his work with the Sartell Police Department, Chief Hughes also currently serves as Chair of the Central Minnesota Violent Offender Task Force and Chair of the State of Minnesota Violent Crime Coordinating Council; and

WHEREAS, Hughes is a resident of Sartell and expects to continue to play an active role in his community even in retirement; and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Senate of the State of Minnesota that it commends Chief Jim Hughes for his many years of dedication and commitment in law enforcement and wishes him the best in his retirement.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is directed to prepare an enrolled copy of this resolution, to be authenticated by the Secretary's signature and that of the Chair of the Senate Rules and Administration Committee, and transmit it to Jim Hughes.

Tom Bottern Secretary of the Senate Kari Dziedzic Chair, Senate Committee on Rules and Administration

Jeff R. Howe State Senator, District 13