KLL/CA

SENATE STATE OF MINNESOTA NINETY-THIRD SESSION

S.R. No. 15

(SENATE AUTHORS: ABELER, Hoffman, Bahr, Housley and Coleman) DATE D-PG OFFICIAL STATUS 03/06/2023 Introduction Referred to Rules and Administration

A Senate resolution

congratulating the Coon Rapids High School varsity cheer team on their outstanding 2022-2023 season performance.

WHEREAS, competitive sports in our high schools are helpful in teaching the principles of sportsmanship and fair play, thereby contributing to better citizenship; and

WHEREAS, the Coon Rapids High School cheer team is made up of 15 students ranging from grades 8 through 12. The team is led by senior captains Rachel Ketel and Darius Oats; and

WHEREAS, the team practiced two to three times a week from June to February. They spent an estimated 525 hours over the course of their season practicing, competing, attending community events, and fundraising. The team competed at the local, regional, state, and national levels; and

WHEREAS, this season, the team earned multiple first place titles at local competitions, including a grand champion title, as well as achieved the highest scoring routines in program history; and

WHEREAS, for the first time in the school's history, the Coon Rapids Varsity Cheer team were finalists in the 2023 National High School Cheerleading competition in Orlando, Florida, on February 10-12, 2023. The team placed ninth overall and is now ranked as a top ten cheer program in the country in the small varsity coed nontumbling division.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Senate of the State of Minnesota that congratulations are extended to the members of the Coon Rapids High School varsity cheer team for their outstanding sportsmanship and skill.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is directed to prepare an enrolled copy of this resolution, to be authenticated by the Secretary's signature and that of the Chair of the Senate Rules and Administration Committee, and transmit it to the principal of Coon Rapids High School.

1

Tom Bottern Secretary of the Senate Kari Dziedzic Chair, Senate Committee on Rules and Administration

John A. Hoffman State Senator, District 34 Jim Abeler State Senator, District 35