SENATE STATE OF MINNESOTA **NINETY-SECOND SESSION**

A Senate resolution

S.R. No. 135

(SENATE AUTHORS: INGEBRIGTSEN) D-PG

DATE 05/05/2022

1.1

1.22

OFFICIAL STATUS

22-07564

Introduction Referred to Rules and Administration

1.2	commending Officer Jesse Younggren of the Grand Forks Police Department for his
1.3	heroic actions on May 27, 2020.
1.4	WHEREAS, Officer Jesse Younggren was a responding officer to an emergency assistance
1.5	call from deputies from the Grand Forks County Sheriff's Department on May 27, 2020; and
1.6	WHEREAS, multiple officers from the Grand Forks Police Department responded to the
1.7	scene, including Officer Younggren. Officers Corporal Patrick Torok and Officer Cody Holte
1.8	entered the apartment where the deputies were pinned down by gunfire; and
1.9	WHEREAS, 76 rounds were exchanged in the confrontation, resulting in one of the deputies
1.10	being injured, the suspect's mother being killed by the suspect's weapon, and Officer Cody Holte
1.11	being shot multiple times and ultimately resulting in his death; and
1.12	WHEREAS, Officer Younggren was instrumental in assisting with the evacuation of the
1.13	wounded deputy and also accompanied Officer Holte in the ambulance to the hospital and played
1.14	a vital role in protecting and comforting Officer Holte; and
1.15	WHEREAS, Officer Younggren was awarded the Grand Forks Police Department's Medal
1.16	of Valor for his brave actions on May 27, 2020; and
1.17	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Senate of the State of Minnesota that it
1.18	thanks Officer Jesse Younggren for his service to his community and commends his bravery in the
1.19	line of duty.
1.20	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is directed to prepare an
1.21	enrolled copy of this resolution, to be authenticated by the Secretary's signature and that of the

Chair of the Senate Rules and Administration Committee, and transmit it to Officer Jesse Younggren.

Cal R. Ludeman Secretary of the Senate Jeremy R. Miller Chair, Senate Committee on Rules and Administration

Bill Ingebrigtsen State Senator, District 8

Mark Johnson State Senator, District 1