A Senate resolution

congratulating Saint John's University quarterback Jackson Erdmann on receiving the Gagliardi Trophy.

WHEREAS, the Gagliardi Trophy is given annually to an outstanding football player in NCAA Division III to recognize excellence in athletics, academics, and community service; and

WHEREAS, Jackson Erdmann, a graduate of Rosemount High School, began his college football career at Penn State before transferring to Saint John's University to be closer to home and gain more time on the field; and

WHEREAS, during the 2018 season, Jackson threw for 3,032 yards, earning over 40 touchdowns with only five interceptions and claiming responsibility for a total of 290 points, contributing to a resoundingly successful season for the Johnnies; and

WHEREAS, Jackson claimed several single-game passing records, was named the Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Player of the Year, and is on track to claim career records at Saint John's University at the conclusion of his senior season next fall; and

WHEREAS, off the field, Jackson pursues a broad range of service work including tutoring students and teaching ESL, contributing to hunger-relief programs, and other interests in social justice causes; and

WHEREAS, Jackson is a passionate advocate for bringing an end to global sex trafficking. Last spring, Jackson arranged an 18-day service trip to work with young victims of sex trafficking in northern Thailand, with the help and flexibility of his professors; and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Senate of the State of Minnesota that it recognizes Jackson Erdmann for his exceptional athletic abilities and contributions to his community, and congratulates him on receiving the Gagliardi Trophy.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is directed to prepare an enrolled copy of this resolution, to be authenticated by the Secretary's signature and that of the Chair of the Senate Rules and Administration Committee, and transmit it to Jackson Erdmann.

Cal R. Ludeman Secretary of the Senate Paul E. Gazelka Chair, Senate Committee on Rules and Administration

Gregory D. Clausen State Senator, District 57