Minnesota Senate









KEY: stricken = old language to be removed
         underscored = new language to be added
Authors and Status

S.R. No. 283, as introduced: 89th Legislative Session (2015-2016) Posted on May 17, 2016

1.1A Senate resolution
1.2honoring Kathryn LeBrasseur for receiving the Service to Mankind award
1.3from the Alexandria Sertoma Chapter.
1.4WHEREAS, those who selflessly donate their time and energy to help others in need
1.5perform a valuable service that strengthens our state's communities; and
1.6WHEREAS, Sertoma Inc., formerly known as Sertoma International, is an organization of
1.7service clubs founded on April 11, 1912; the name is an acronym for Service to Mankind; and
1.8WHEREAS, the Service to Mankind award from the Alexandria Sertoma Chapter
1.9recognizes community service and volunteer work done by a non-Sertoman; nominations are
1.10submitted by members of the community and a recipient is chosen by a Sertoma committee; and
1.11WHEREAS, Kathryn LeBrasseur's service to the Alexandria community dates back at
1.12least 35 years; in 1981, she helped bring a meal delivery system, Meals on Wheels, to Douglas
1.13County, and she also played a key role in establishing the Rainbow Rider, an alternative form of
1.14transportation, throughout the area; and
1.15WHEREAS, Kathryn's deep level of local involvement recently earned her the title of
1.16"Mrs. Alexandria" from Alexandria Mayor Sara Carlson; and
1.17WHEREAS, on Wednesday, May 4, 2016, at the Broadway Ballroom in Alexandria,
1.18Kathryn received Sertoma's Service to Mankind award, a tremendous honor deserving of special
1.19legislative recognition; and
1.20NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Senate of the State of Minnesota
1.21that it congratulates Kathryn LeBrasseur on receiving the Service to Mankind award from the
1.22Alexandria Sertoma Chapter
1.23BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is directed to prepare an
1.24enrolled copy of this resolution, to be authenticated by the Secretary's signature and that of the
1.25Chair of the Senate Rules and Administration Committee, and transmit it to Kathryn LeBrasseur.
JoAnne M. Zoff
Secretary of the Senate

Thomas M. Bakk
Chair, Senate Committee on
Rules and Administration
Bill Ingebrigtsen
State Senator, District 8

Minnesota Senate red diamond image Minnesota Senate Bldg. red diamond image 95 University Avenue W. red diamond image St. Paul, MN 55155