JOURNAL

OF THE

SENATE

STATE OF MINNESOTA

NINETY-THIRD LEGISLATURE

2023

Published By The Secretary of the Senate

Introduction

The 2023 Session of the Ninety-Third Legislature convened January 3, and was organized with a DFL majority. 24 new senators (14 DFL and 10 Republican) were elected in the 2022 election, giving the Senate a political makeup of 34 DFL and 33 Republican members.

Senator Kari Dziedzic (DFL-Minneapolis) was named Majority Leader and Chair of the Committee on Rules and Administration.

Senator Mark T. Johnson (R-East Grand Forks) was named the Minority Leader.

Senator Bobby Joe Champion (DFL-Minneapolis) was elected President of the Senate, becoming the first Black senator to be elected President.

Thomas S. Bottern was elected Secretary of the Senate, replacing Cal R. Ludeman who retired in December 2022, having served 8 years (non-consecutive) as Secretary.

The Rules of the Senate were amended at the start of the session with a couple of significant changes. With the approval of their respective caucus leader, members were allowed to be counted as present and cast their votes from a remote location during floor session. Also, committee meetings were held using a hybrid of in-person and video conferencing that allowed members to participate and vote remotely with the approval of their respective caucus leader. All members and staff returned to in-office work five days a week during the 2023 session.

The 2023 session adjourned on the 77th legislative day, Monday, May 22. The Ninety-Third Legislature will reconvene on Monday, February 12, 2024.

Members of the Senate

Abeler, Jim (R)* Anderson, Bruce D. (R) Bahr, Calvin K. (R) Boldon, Liz (DFL)** Carlson, Jim (DFL) Champion, Bobby Joe (DFL) Coleman, Julia E. (R) Cwodzinski, Steve A. (DFL) Dahms, Gary H. (R) Dibble, D. Scott (DFL) Dornink, Gene (R) Draheim, Rich (R) Drazkowski, Steve J. (R) Duckworth, Zach (R) Dziedzic, Kari (DFL) Eichorn, Justin D. (R) Farnsworth, Robert D. (R) Fateh, Omar (DFL) Frentz, Nick A. (DFL) Green, Steve (R) Gruenhagen, Glenn H. (R) Gustafson, Heather (DFL) Hauschild, Grant (DFL) Hawj, Foung (DFL) Hoffman, John A. (DFL) Housley, Karin (R) Howe, Jeff R. (R) Jasinski, John R. (R) Johnson, Mark T. (R) Klein, Matt D. (DFL) Koran, Mark W. (R) Kreun, Michael E. (R) Kunesh, Mary K. (DFL) Kupec, Robert J. (DFL) *R--Republican **DFL--Democratic-Farmer-Labor

Lang, Andrew R. (R) Latz, Ron (DFL) Lieske, Bill (R) Limmer, Warren, (R) Lucero, Eric (R) Mann, Alice (DFL) Marty, John (DFL) Mathews, Andrew (R) Maye Quade, Erin K. (DFL) McEwen, Jennifer A. (DFL) Miller, Jeremy R. (R) Mitchell, Nicole L. (DFL) Mohamed, Zaynab (DFL) Morrison, Kelly L. (DFL) Murphy, Erin P. (DFL) Nelson, Carla J. (R) Oumou Verbeten, Clare (DFL) Pappas, Sandra L. (DFL) Pha, Susan (DFL) Port, Lindsey (DFL) Pratt, Eric R. (R) Putnam, Aric (DFL) Rarick, Jason (R) Rasmusson, Jordan (R) Rest, Ann H. (DFL) Seeberger, Judy (DFL) Utke, Paul J. (R) Weber, Bill (R) Wesenberg, Nathan (R) Westlin, Bonnie S. (DFL) Westrom, Torrey N. (R) Wiklund, Melissa H. (DFL) Xiong, Tou (DFL)

Senate Leaders

Kari Dziedzic Liz Boldon Nick A. Frentz Foung Hawj Mary K. Kunesh Kelly L. Morrison Erin P. Murphy Mark T. Johnson Julia E. Coleman Zach Duckworth Justin D. Eichorn Karin Housley John R. Jasinski Bill Weber Majority Leader Assistant Minority Leader

Officers of the Senate

Bobby Joe Champion Ann H. Rest Thomas S. Bottern Michael R. Linn Jessica Tupper Scott Radunzel Melissa G. Mapes Sven K. Lindquist Bryan Pierick Rev. Dr. DeWayne Davis President of the Senate President Pro Tem Secretary of the Senate First Assistant Secretary Second Assistant Secretary Third Assistant Secretary Engrossing Secretary Sergeant at Arms Assistant Sergeant at Arms Chaplain