# **JOURNAL**

**OF THE** 

## **SENATE**

**STATE OF MINNESOTA** 

#### **NINETY-SECOND LEGISLATURE**

2022

Published By
The Secretary of the Senate

### Introduction

The Ninety-Second Legislature reconvened January 31, 2022, with new caucus leadership and a new presiding officer.

Senator Jeremy R. Miller (R-Winona) was named Majority Leader and Chair of the Committee on Rules and Administration.

Senator Melisa López Franzen (DFL-Edina) was named Minority Leader.

Senator David J. Osmek (R-Mound) was elected President of the Senate.

The political makeup of the 2022 Senate remained 34 Republican, 31 DFL, and 2 Independent senators.

Marilyn Logan, the Assistant Sergeant at Arms since 2005, retired in November 2021, after 30 years of dedicated service to the Senate.

Bryan Pierick was elected January 31, 2022, as the new Assistant Sergeant at Arms.

With the COVID-19 pandemic declining, seating in the chamber returned to the normal arrangement. The Senate continued to allow members to be counted as present and cast their votes from remote locations during floor sessions. Committee meetings were held using a hybrid of in-person and a video conferencing platform that allowed remote participation and voting. A hybrid telework policy remained in place allowing staff to work from remote locations, with most staff returning to in-office work at least 3 days a week during the 2022 session.

The Senate adjourned sine die on the 115th legislative day, Sunday, May 22, 2022. The House of Representatives adjourned sine die on the 116th legislative day, Monday, May 23, 2022.

Colleen Pacheco, the First Assistant Secretary of the Senate since 2009, retired in June 2022, after 45 years of dedicated service to the Senate.

Senator David J. Tomassoni (I-Chisholm) announced that the 2022 session would be his last, as he was battling amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS). Senator Tomassoni passed away on August 11, 2022, having served 22 years in the Senate and 8 years in the House. The vacancy will be filled in the November general election.

Twenty-two other Senators announced they would not seek reelection to the Senate in 2022: Thomas M. Bakk (I-Cook), Michelle R. Benson (R-Ham Lake), Karla Bigham (DFL-Cottage Grove), Gregory D. Clausen (DFL-Apple Valley), Chris A. Eaton (DFL-Brooklyn Center), Kent Eken (DFL-Audubon), Paul E. Gazelka (R-East Gull Lake), Michael P. Goggin (R-Red Wing), Bill Ingebrigtsen (R-Alexandria), Jason Isaacson (DFL-Shoreview), Ann M. Johnson Stewart (DFL-Minnetonka), Susan Kent (DFL-Woodbury), Mary Kiffmeyer (R-Big Lake), Melisa Lopez Franzen (DFL-Edina), Scott J. Newman (R-Hutchinson), Jerry Newton (DFL-Coon Rapids), David J. Osmek (R-Mound), Julie A. Rosen (R-Fairmont), Carrie Ruud (R-Breezy Point), David H. Senjem (R-Rochester), Patricia Torres Ray (DFL-Minneapolis), and Charles W. Wiger (DFL-Maplewood).

#### **Members of the Senate**

Abeler, Jim (R)\* Anderson, Bruce D. (R) Bakk, Thomas M. (I)\*\* Benson, Michelle R. (R) Bigham, Karla (DFL)\*\*\* Carlson, Jim (DFL) Chamberlain, Roger C. (R) Champion, Bobby Joe (DFL) Clausen, Gregory D. (DFL) Coleman, Julia E. (R) Cwodzinski, Steve A. (DFL) Dahms, Gary H. (R) Dibble, D. Scott (DFL) Dornink, Gene (R) Draheim, Rich (R) Duckworth, Zach (R) Dziedzic, Kari (DFL) Eaton, Chris A. (DFL) Eichorn, Justin D. (R) Eken, Kent (DFL) Fateh, Omar (DFL) Frentz, Nick A. (DFL) Gazelka, Paul E. (R) Goggin, Michael P. (R) Hawj, Foung (DFL) Hoffman, John A. (DFL) Housley, Karin (R) Howe, Jeff R. (R) Ingebrigtsen, Bill (R) Isaacson, Jason (DFL) Jasinski, John R. (R) Johnson, Mark (R) Johnson Stewart, Ann M. (DFL) Kent, Susan (DFL) \*R--Republican

\*\*\*DFL--Democratic-Farmer-Labor

Kiffmeyer, Mary (R) Klein, Matt D. (DFL) Koran, Mark W. (R) Kunesh, Mary K. (DFL) Lang, Andrew R. (R) Latz, Ron (DFL) Limmer, Warren, (R)

López Franzen, Melisa (DFL)

Marty, John (DFL) Mathews, Andrew (R) McEwen, Jennifer A. (DFL) Miller, Jeremy R. (R) Murphy, Erin P. (DFL) Nelson, Carla J. (R) Newman, Scott J. (R) Newton, Jerry (DFL) Osmek, David J. (R) Pappas, Sandra L. (DFL) Port, Lindsey (DFL) Pratt, Eric R. (R) Putnam, Aric (DFL) Rarick, Jason (R) Rest, Ann H. (DFL) Rosen, Julie A. (R) Rudd, Carrie (R) Senjem, David H. (R) Tomassoni, David J. (I) Torres Ray, Patricia (DFL)

Utke, Paul J. (R)
Weber, Bill (R)
Westrom, Torrey N. (R)
Wiger, Charles W. (DFL)
Wiklund, Melissa H. (DFL)

\*\*I--Independent

#### **Senate Leaders**

Jeremy R. Miller
Karin Housley
Mark Johnson
Roger C. Chamberlain
Zack Duckworth
John R. Jasinski
Bill Weber
John R. Jasinski
Bill Weber
Melisa López Franzen
Nick A. Frentz
Foung Hawj
Mary K. Kunesh
Karla Bigham
Kent Eken

Majority Leader
Deputy Majority Leader
Deputy Majority Leader
Assistant Majority Whip
Majority Whip
Minority Leader
Assistant Minority Leader
Assistant Minority Leader
Assistant Minority Leader
Assistant Minority Leader
Minority Whip
Minority Whip

#### **Officers of the Senate**

David J. Osmek
David J. Tomassoni
Cal R. Ludeman
Colleen J. Pacheco
Michael R. Linn
Jessica M. Tupper
Melissa G. Mapes
Sven K. Lindquist
Bryan Pierick
Pastor Mike Smith

President of the Senate
President Pro Tem
Secretary of the Senate
First Assistant Secretary
Second Assistant Secretary
Third Assistant Secretary
Engrossing Secretary
Sergeant at Arms
Assistant Sergeant at Arms
Chaplain