American Indian Communities in Minnesota - LOWER SIOUX COMMUNITY

American Indian Communities in Minnesota

Reservation Area: 1,743 acres

Tribal Land: 1,743 acres

Tribal Enrollment: 842 (1995)

Community: Morton (tribal headquarters)

Number of Residents: 393 (1995)


The original reservation was established by treaty in 1888. Acreage was increased through the 1934 Indian Reorganization Act. It is the largest Sioux community in Minnesota.


Type of Government: Representative government through the five-member Tribal Council, consisting of a chair person, vice-chairperson, secretary and treasurer serving two-year terms.

Election Process: The general membership of the reservation elects council members. Those not living on the reservation may vote by absentee ballot.

Employment (1995)

Labor Force: 100

Unemployment: 25%

Economic Development

Tribal Businesses: Casino, hotel, gravel pit, and gift shops (pottery).

School Attendance

Public schools are located in Redwood Falls.

Enrollment (1997-1998): 133

Dakota Open - charter school with a focus on language and culture.

Enrollment (1997-1998): 45

Health Care (1994)

Contract Health Users: 462


Number: 1 - Jackpot Junction, Morton

Next Page | Table of Contents | Senate Counsel & Research home page