Senate Counsel, Research
and Fiscal Analysis
Minnesota Senate Bldg.
95 University Avenue W. Suite 3300
St. Paul, MN 55155
(651) 296-4791
Tom Bottern
State of Minnesota
S.F. No. 475 - Abolishing Daylight Saving Time
Author: Senator Mary Kiffmeyer
Prepared By: Stephanie James, Senate Counsel (651/296-0103)
Date: January 31, 2019


SF 475 ends the use of daylight saving time in Minnesota. Time is established by a combination of federal and state law.  Federal law (United States Code, title 15, chapter 6, sections 260 and 260a) requires states to use standard time from the first Sunday in November to the second Sunday in March. From the second Sunday in March to the first Sunday in November, states must use daylight saving time (which is standard time advanced by one hour) unless a state claims an exemption. A state that claims the exemption must use standard time throughout the year, under federal law.

This bill modifies state statute for the state’s description of standard time so that it applies year-round, and claims the exemption necessary to use standard time through the whole year. More specifically:

Section 1 [Standard Time] modifies the state’s description of its standard of time, to eliminate the reference to advanced standard time.

Section 2 [Abolishing Daylight Saving Time] exempts the state from the requirement to use daylight saving time.



Check on the status of this bill
Back to Senate Counsel and Research Bill Summaries page

This page is maintained by the Office of Senate Counsel, Research, and Fiscal Analysis for the Minnesota Senate.
Last review or update: 01/31/2019
If you see any errors on this page, please e-mail us at