Senate Counsel, Research
and Fiscal Analysis
Minnesota Senate Bldg.
95 University Avenue W. Suite 3300
St. Paul, MN 55155
(651) 296-4791
Tom Bottern
State of Minnesota
S.F. No. 1771 - Medical Cannabis (Committee Engrossment)
Author: Senator D. Scott Dibble
Prepared By: Katie Cavanor, Senate Counsel (651/296-3801)
Date: April 15, 2015


SF 1771 makes several modifications to the medical cannabis statutes.

Section 1 (152.22, subd. 6) includes in the definition of medical cannabis, the cannabis plant prior to it being processed when possessed by an employee of a registered manufacturer or a laboratory under contract while engaged in employment duties.

Section 2 (152.25, subd. 1) modifies the time period in which medical cannabis manufacturers must register with the Commissioner of Health from every year to every two years.

Section 3 (152.27, subd. 6) requires the commissioner to approve or deny a patient's application for participation in the registry program within 30 days after receipt of the application and application fee.  Permits the commissioner to take up to 60 days to approve or deny until January 1, 2016.  Specifies that a patient's enrollment in the program is revoked upon the death of the patient.

Section 4 (152.29, subd. 1) technical change clarifying that the laboratory that a manufacturer contracts with to do the testing must be approved by the commissioner.

Section 5 (152.37, subd. 2) clarifies that the annual certified financial audit that each medical cannabis manufacturer must submit to the commissioner for the calendar year beginning January 2015.

Section 6 changes the date in which the Commissioner of Health must report to the task force on medical cannabis therapeutic research the findings on the need for adding intractable pain to the list of qualifying medical conditions from July 1, 2016, to January 1, 2016.

Check on the status of this bill
Back to Senate Counsel and Research Bill Summaries page

This page is maintained by the Office of Senate Counsel, Research, and Fiscal Analysis for the Minnesota Senate.
Last review or update: 04/15/2015
If you see any errors on this page, please e-mail us at