Senate Counsel, Research
and Fiscal Analysis
Minnesota Senate Bldg.
95 University Avenue W. Suite 3300
St. Paul, MN 55155
(651) 296-4791
Tom Bottern
State of Minnesota
S.F. No. 664 - County Wheelage Tax Authority
Author: Senator Jim Carlson
Prepared By: Krista Boyd, Senate Fiscal Analyst (651/296-7681)
Date: March 8, 2013


Section 1, subdivision 1, broadens the county wheelage tax to apply to all counties in the state, not only metropolitan counties.  The maximum annual tax is increased from $5 to $20, beginning in calendar year 2014.  The section removes the exemption from the wheelage tax for electric-assisted bicycles.

Subdivision 2 deletes the requirement that the proceeds of the wheelage tax must be paid to the Commissioner of Management and Budget for deposit to the credit of the county’s wheelage tax fund.

Subdivision 2a makes conforming changes.

Subdivision 3 directs the registrar of motor vehicles to issue a monthly warrant in favor of each county that levies the wheelage tax.  Current law directs the Commissioner of Management and Budget to issue a warrant each year for this purpose.

Subdivision 4 makes technical and conforming changes.

Subdivision 6 a definition of “metropolitan county,” is stricken.

Subdivision 7 makes technical changes.


Check on the status of this bill
Back to Senate Counsel and Research Bill Summaries page

This page is maintained by the Office of Senate Counsel, Research, and Fiscal Analysis for the Minnesota Senate.
Last review or update: 03/08/2013
If you see any errors on this page, please e-mail us at