

Minnesota Senate Tax Committee

Thursday, April 13, 2023 8:30 a.m. Room G-15

Chair

Ann H. Rest 328 Capitol St. Paul, MN 55155 (651) 296-5650 sen.ann.rest@senate.mn

Vice Chair Matt Klein

Ranking Minority Member

Bill Weber

Members
Scott Dibble
Steve Drazkowski
Kari Dziedzic
Grant Hauschild
Jeremy Miller
Carla Nelson

Committee Staff:

Aric Putnam

Committee Administrator

Mitch Berggren (651) 296-5540

mitch.berggren@senate.mn

Committee Legislative Assistant

Christie Blood (651) 296-2889

christie.blood@senate.mn

Caucus Research

Krista Broton (DFL) Daniel Mickelberg (R)

Senate CounselNora Pollock

Nora Pollock Eric Silvia

Legislative Analyst
Bjorn Arneson

Fiscal Analyst
Casey Muhm

<u>Agenda</u>

1. Call to Order

2. Adoption of minutes from 4/4/2023

3. SF 2684 (Kunesh) – Omnibus Education appropriations

4. SF 1608 (Weber) – Watershed district general fund levy maximum amount increaseSt. Paul special tax increment financing authority provision

Testifiers:

Jan Voit – Minnesota Watersheds Executive Director
 Tera Guetter – Pelican Rapids Watershed Director

5. SF 671 (Dibble) – Rental motor vehicle tax and fee modification

Testifiers:

• Paul Schroeder - CEO, HOURCAR

• Russ Stark – City of Saint Paul Chief Resilience Officer

• Will Schroeer – Chair of the statewide Shared Mobility Collaborative

6. 3233 (Dibble) – Additional financing of metropolitan area transit capital expenditures provisions and authorizing the issuance of certain obligations

Testifier:

• Judd Schetnan – Government Affairs Director, Metropolitan Council

7. SF 3157 (Dibble) – Active transportation program appropriations

Testifiers:

• Bentley Graves – MN Chamber of Commerce

• Jill Sims – Director of Government Relations, Hospitality Minnesota

• Steve Barthel – Government and Community Relations Manager, Minnesota Grocers Association

• Aurora Vautrin – Legislative and Political Director, 100% Campaign

• Margaret Donahoe – Executive Director, MN Transportation Alliance

• Eric Bernstein – Director, We Make Minnesota

• John Thorson – Legislative Director , LIUNA Minnesota and North Dakota

Brad Lehto – Secretary/Treasurer, Minnesota AFL/CIO

Katie Nicholson – Citizen of St. Paul

• Darwin Schaeferlane – Citizen of Bloomington

8. Announcements

9. Adjournment

Minnesota Senate Tax Committee